Better days

Yes I know your dreams
And I know they’re more complex than they seem
Yes I know you have needs
What should that be to me?

Yes I know you’re planting seeds
That sprout to roots that lie beneath
Everyone and everything
You and Me

 But I’m tired of these days
of dying every time I wake
of chasing that imaginary place
when I can’t find the way

And you know I’m worn
from hiding away
putting on the fake face
for the hope of better days.

Turn off the parts that define you
Shut down the hope that reminds you
that you’re back where you started and going nowhere
that you’re nothing and no one and nowhere

Hope, beg and pray for respite or relief
or extinction or at least some kind of release
to the man with your plans laid out in his hands
who says nothing while you wait
and wait. 

But I’m tired of these days
of dying every time I wake
of chasing that imaginary place
when I can’t find the way

And you know I’m worn
from hiding away
putting on the fake face
for the hope of better days.

Leave a Reply

