Captive

In the morning I open up my eyes
To see the beauty, all the colours of the morning sky
But I’m surrounded by the shadow of the walls I’ve built on the inside
I am, I am captive.

I trace the pattern with my fingers
between the stones that hold me here
A silent moment as I linger
between the chains that lock me in my fear

Where does the sun go when you close your eyes?
When there’s no one that knows the fear you feel inside…

I watch the struggle as you’re leaving 
You try to help me loose my chains
but you don’t know that I’m bleeding
and the wounds, oh the wounds they make me stay

Can someone tell me why I’m bleeding?
Can someone help me fill the void I’m feeding?
Don’t you notice that I’m kneeling
At the edge of what I’m feeling?

Where does the sun go when you close your eyes?
When there’s no one that knows the fear you feel at night
from a lifetime of opening your eyes to see
that you are, you are captive
And I am, I am captive.  

Leave a Reply

