Neither Did I.

I woke this morning and remembered
the words spoken the night before
and how you left them hanging in the cold air
like stalactites waiting to fall

The room is quiet with the exception of
the neighbour’s whining vacuum
An hour later I wonder if he is trying to hide evidence
either that or he has the cleanest car in the world.

I roll and turn and tangle myself in clouds and sheets
trying to remember when you started to look at me the way you do
when your words became pointed
when you stopped trying to be gentle

I remember my words
I remember the look on your face
I remember, and it aches like hell
because you did not come and say goodnight

and neither did I.

Leave a Reply

