Aftermath

I am buried under the weight of expectation;
I am not, but am still expected to be
everything you ever wanted,
everything you ever dreamed.

I am skin and I am bone;
eyes and feeling wrapped in breath
A living, walking individual beat
I am not anyone else.

Is it too much to ask that here and there
be about this burning dream of mine?
Is it too hard for you to keep me in sight
before what’s been lost clouds your eyes?

I am living, breathing code
I am here, and he is not
I am present, feeling alone
I am in the aftermath.

I do not want to be second place;
not fifth, or last or even third.
I want to be the first thing on that day
that redefines our history.

I want something pure and real
I want people to think about the way I feel
before they purge their souls aloud
before they push me into this crowd.

I am skin and I am bone;
eyes and feeling wrapped in breath
A living, walking individual beat
I am not anyone else.

I am living, breathing code
I am here, and he is not
I am present, feeling alone
I am in the aftermath.

Leave a Reply

