My Birthday Wish

On Thursday I turn the big 3-0, and it’s fairly safe to say that I have high expectations of my 30’s. A good friend of mine once told me that her 30’s were like her 20’s but better, because she wasn’t riddled with insecurity anymore. I think I agree, and I’m really looking forward to the next 10 years of my life in particular.

Which got me to thinking, what would I like for my 30th, and what would I put on my list of things to do before I turn 40?

Before I answer this, I’d like you to watch this video and introduce you to this man:

Image

This man is my brother Kristian Anderson. When he turned 34, he was diagnosed with stage 4 bowel cancer. Kristian died when he was 36. So needless to say my perspective on growing older has definitely changed. Where once the searing white panic would kick in at the thought of no longer being in my 20’s, now I see it as a privilege to grow older, and I plan to make the most of the years I am blessed with on this earth.

Today I read an article on Mamamia.com.au (one of my all time favourite websites) where Kelvin O’Reilly spoke about the importance of visiting your Doctor and not letting male pride get in the way of life-saving medical check ups. This hit particularly close to home for me, as in the final stages of his time here on earth, this was my brother’s message.

Get checked. Bowel Cancer is entirely preventable. Going to the Doctor could save your life.

Click here to have a listen to the final interview my brother gave, imploring everyone, particularly men, to swallow their pride and get a check for bowel cancer.

So what does this have to do with my birthday wish, you ask?

This is my wish.

I wish for no one to go through losing a loved one to bowel cancer needlessly.
I wish for you (yes, you) to contact The Cancer Council and obtain a Bowel Cancer screening kit. You can contact them on 13 11 20 in Australia to get your hands on an early detection kit. Listen to me: THIS TEST COULD SAVE YOUR LIFE. And the best part is that it’s free if you’re a certain age.

Please do not sit on your hands. My brother was THIRTY FOUR when he was diagnosed, and it had spread into his liver, which means it could have been in his body for years.

It is never too early to start thinking about your future. Your family. Do not let your pride literally kill you.

So go on. Make my 30th birthday one to remember. It would mean the world to me to see my brother’s legacy live on in you.

One thought on “My Birthday Wish

  1. Hey Beth,
    We knew your brother and more so Rachel thru Oxford falls and followed and prayed for them as the journey unfolded. My mother died of bowel cancer in 2009. The day after my 3Rd child, and 1st daughter was born….I know the pain of knowing if the doctors in nz actually screened and listened to her on her many visits to the doctor of this same complaint she would still be here!! Urghh!! Love Christians legacy, loved the honesty and gutsy way he tackled life, and love how he still inspires me to be me and not make excuses for who I am, the strengths and the weaknesses. Praying Gods continual strength, healing and comfort as you all journey on in this world without him! Anna

Leave a Reply

