Bladerunner.

Tomorrow is the day my life changes, and I’m believing it’s for the better.

For at least the last 9 months (but I believe more like years now,) I’ve suffered from what is called Compartment Syndrome in my legs. Compartment syndrome is when excessive pressure builds up inside an enclosed space in the body. The dangerously high pressure in compartment syndrome impedes the flow of blood to and from the affected tissues.

Or in lamans terms, my legs feel like overstuffed sausages being stabbed with a sharp knife every time I walk for more than 2 minutes straight.

I’m ready to do this. I’m ready to get my life back, to be able to exercise again, to be able to walk to work from the station without having to stop every few minutes, without feeling like I could scream in pain, frustration and exasperation at the fact that no one understands how bad this pain is.

For 9 months I’ve been in pain every single day. And I’m ready for that to end. I’m letting go of the vanity which cringes at the thought of my decent legs looking like the bride of frankenstein. I’m ready to embrace two weeks of rest, recovery and rehabilitation. I’m ready for 6 weeks of working my butt off to get back to having normal legs.

My mental game is the most important thing right now. Please don’t come near me with negativity or gripes with others. The dress code is enforced and will remain in effect until further notice.  I don’t think people realise how much emotional energy being in constant pain eats up.

However! GOOD THINGS AWAIT! Freedom is within my reach.

I’m gonna run to it….

Right after they slice my legs open like a fish fillet! eep!!

So here I go. Prayers, flowers, books, head rubs and good thoughts will all be greatfully accepted!

 

Catch me if you can!

 

Cheetah_Fotor_20140905

 

 

Leave a Reply

