Hostage

I see the door, but my feet are weighted
setting me in stone, there’s no doubt that I know my place here.
I taste it on my lips; the sweet smell of freedom in the air outside
and crippled with regret, I turn my back to stay alive.

I want it more than I want anything,
to run, to leave and never look back
I need so much more than this
I need so much more than just surviving.

I remember the way the wind felt between my golden wings,
and I was the best, the best of something that meant something to me
I had the current at my back all of my glory days
til I fell back and let my dreams go under

And I let it go with one hand, just to stay afloat
but soon I found I could not stand, I could not stand here on my own
and faster than I knew to resist I am shackled
locked inside my dreams with no way back

I want it more than I want anything,
to run, to leave and never look back
I’ve never needed anything more than
I need more than surviving.

The taste of the air is bittersweet, I feel it coming, calling me
but I can’t go, I have to close my eyes
do what I do to somehow stay alive…

I see the door, but my feet are weighted
setting me in stone, there’s no doubt that I know my place here.

I know my place here,
This prison is home.

Blurry Prison

Leave a Reply

