Hey Baby… (Part Two)

15 Weeks

Hey Baby,

It’s been a while since I sat down to write my thoughts for you, but believe me when I say you’re in my every waking (and sometimes dreaming) thought.

A few weeks ago we had some tests done which took a lot off my mind. Turns out you’re developing exactly how you should be, and your risk of being born with any defects is very low, which is wonderful. We also found out that you’re a little man! I’m very excited to find this out, I always felt you were, but it’s nice to know for sure so we can start planning our future with you a little more certainly.

So now comes the question of what we name you. Having been with your Dad for nearly 10 years, we’ve had a bit of time to discuss our preferences when it comes to baby names, and yet now we actually find ourselves faced with the reality of having you, we can’t seem to remember many of those preferences. A name is so important, baby. It’s the one thing you take with you forever; it is your identity, and in many ways, it defines you.

So what do we call you, our little man? Do we name you based on our hopes for you? Do we name you based on where we’ve come from? From our family heritage? From where we’ve been or where we want to be? How do we pick a name that encapsulates the joy you are, the hope you represent, but at the same time enables you to become who you are destined to be? I guess time will tell. We have a few names we keep coming back to for you, they are strong and timeless, and filled with meaning to both of us. So until we can announce your arrival, and lift your name to the world with pride so deep, we will mull it over and pray for the right one to stand out for you.

The only thing I know for sure is how much I am in love with you. Every time I see you dancing around on the screen, your little hands and feet punching away at some unheard rhythm in your soul, as I watch you grow, I grow more and more thankful for the joy and hope you have brought to our lives already. It far outweighs the fear of the unknown, and it overshadows any thought that is not from God about the future he has assured us.

Keep being you, little one. I know heaven has a name that is right for you. I can’t wait to learn it.

“Listen to me, you islands; hear this, you distant nations: Before I was born the LORD called me; from my mother’s womb he has spoken my name.

Isaiah 49: 1

 

12509580_10156473422730457_1047494162504615670_n

 

2 thoughts on “Hey Baby… (Part Two)

  1. Hi Beth, Congratulations. I’m so excited for you. You’re looking radiant. Parenthood is a wonderful Blessing. Just wanted to let you know that I loved your blog about your new baby. Enjoy the coming months, years and decades with your little one.

Leave a Reply

